Cheers to the Freakin’ Weeken’

Drink to that yea-uh yea-uh! I hate Rhianna but I’m a sucker for that stupid song!

Now I don’t want to do anything else on the weekend but sew! And I’ve got my eye on a few projects that are supposed to be EASY! I have a wonderfully crafty co-worker, Chickerbp! I love that name, don’t you? She graciously bestowed upon me a copy of Sewing in a Straight Line: An amazingly resourceful and fun book full of really cool projects that can all be sewn in a straight line and without any tissue paper nightmare patterns. I read the whole thing cover to cover when I got home from work and I really think I can do this. In fact, a few months back, I made the one hour skirt from this book through an online tutorial. It stunk royally, but that was a sewing lifetime ago!

One of the projects that intrigues me is a shirred maxi dress. I did not know what shirred meant three days ago but I do now and I’m shirred I can do this! The weather has started to change so a maxi skirt may not be necessary but I can throw a sweater over it and I would love to have one of these. I like the idea of walking around in ONE giant piece of fabric! I have never worked with elastic thread but I’m looking forward to it! I will head over to Joann’s tomorrow and get thee started on what I hope is a successful crafty weekend! Bottoms UP!

Leave a Reply

