L’aissez les bon temps roulez!

Yes, let the good times roll! I am heading to my beloved New Orleans this week but I also went on a bit of a shopping spree this past weekend and still had two steak dinners! Did I hit the lottery, you ask? Of course not, I know how to find a deal! Before I spill the secrets of the shopping deals, feast your eyes on this:

Glorious top sirloin cooked to a perfect medium rare, brussel sprouts roasted in garlic and olive oil and a fancy $6 bottle of Los Dos Grenache (haha, maybe not fancy, but $6!). This entire meal, wine included, cost me less than $15 and nothing was cooked in butter, so it was healthy too!

Okay, Okay, save some energy and drool for what’s about to come! I decided to do a little shopping Friday after work. I had a few left over Macy’s gift cards and I’ve been obsessing almost daily over some clothes from Zara. I cannot stand to go to the mall on the weekends so I figured Friday evening around 7 would be empty! IT WAS PACKED! I guess people go to Lenox Mall before going out or they just walk around in the dark mall with sunglasses on. I was surprised but I knew it would still be better than a Saturday afternoon. First up, Zara!

There are just a few Zara stores nationwide and here in Atlanta we are lucky enough to have one in the Neiman Marcus wing. I thought about going into the Hermes boutique but it would only make me sad. I have been obsessing about Zara’s leather bowling bag for weeks now and it was only $50 so I figured I had to have it. I’d only been in Zara once before and I remember it being a bit of a mess, but I decided to give it another try. It was messier than I’ve ever seen. It reminded me of a trip to a Charlotte Russe a few years back: clothes strewn all over the place, nothing color coordinated, just an overall disappointing shopping experience. In my previous posting, “Throw Me a Pity Party, Please”, I also had seen a red Zara sweater that was $15. Well I saw it, and it probably was worth pennies. The material was crap, no shape, just plain awful! This wasn’t going well. I looked everywhere for the bag with no luck. I saw a similar one and if it was any indication of what the other one was like, I wasn’t going to be missing much! However, as I was about to walk out, I spotted a pair of shoes that I thought looked cute so I walked over to try them on. I fell in love. A cute neutral pump, in my size no less! and get this $10!!!! Let me tell you again! TEN DOLLARS! And they are comfortable! Maybe these shoes walked in from a different store because they certainly didn’t belong in the mess that is ZARA! Card swiped! NEXT!

It always takes me that first purchase to get going. I often have no luck or I need to go through every store before I can consider making a purchase just in case there’s something better at the next store. Plus, I really don’t like to return stuff. It’s always such a hassle.

OK! My next mission was a purse. I headed over to Macy’s and I remembered that I had about $50 worth of gift cards so I figured I could score a new purse for a really good deal. Purses are not really my thing. I’m learning, but if it can’t be a Birkin, I might as well be carrying plastic shopping bags. I have to be in the right mood for a purse too. I buy one maybe every 2-3 years. It’s just hard to obsess over but I’m learning how important of an accessory it is to have. My budget for this next find was around $100. Not a lot by any means, but I’ve got $50 in gift cards so I only want to spend about $50! Cheapskate, I know. I scoured the racks and racks of stuff. Ugly, I tell you. I headed to the Fossil section because they make cute bags so I focused on that. I am currently carrying a black izod top handle bowling style bag and it’s coming out the sides with receipts, coins, a french translation guide among other junk. I am a believer that the bigger the bowl, the bigger the fish so I decided to downsize and try and find a purse that would allow me to fit the bare minimum. In fact, in college, my purse of choice was a wallet on a string! Can you believe that? After picking up things I couldn’t afford and walking back and forth over to the mirror to make sure I looked okay carrying my purse (from my car to the office, my car to the front door) I fell in love with an orange leather Fossil purse. It’s cute, petite and I’ve never had anything real leather and it was $40! I’m sure you are laughing at me, but this is a huge step for me. I pushed aside looking for something utilitarian and went for cute and functional for once. Feast your eyes on her!

She’s so cute and the best part is that I don’t even need to use a wallet with it! hahaha, are you laughing even harder? Some people spend more on a wallet than 5 purses like this! But not me, I can put everything inside and it feels like I’m carrying nothing, which is ideal! It’s the inflated version of a wallet on a string! Parfait! Tres Bien! Magnifique! (And it still holds my french translation guide, for moments like these). Wow, I’m telling you what, life is good. I walked away with a new purse and shoes for $50!

Stay tuned because it got me on a roll for another big purchase that’s on the way thanks to topshop. Not sure if I’ll get it before I leave town, but I’ll be sure to critique them (hint, hint) good or bad when I get back.

Leave a Reply

